2020-2021 NFL Awards Predictions (Before Week 8)

As we approach week eight of the 2020 NFL season, a lot of players have made a case for themselves to win an NFL award at the end of the season. The different awards are MVP, Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Offensive Rookie of the Year, Defensive Rookie of the Year, Comeback Player of the Year, and Coach of the Year. Those are the most notable awards that are given out to players at the NFL awards show, which is usually days before the Super Bowl.

The MVP award should go to Seattle Seahawks’ quarterback, Russell Wilson. Wilson has been on fire this season with 1,890 passing yards, 22 touchdown passes, 80.6 quarterback rating, 71.2 completion percentage, as well as leading the Seahawks for the best record in the NFC. He is also on pace to beat Peyton Manning’s 55 touchdown record if he continues to ball out on game days.

The Offensive Player of the Year award should go to Green Bay Packers; wide receiver, Davante Adams. Adams has been Aaron Rodgers’s number one target for almost seven straight seasons now and has been amazing since coming out of Fresno State in 2014. Davante Adams has 449 receiving yards, four touchdowns, 36 receptions, and is averaging 12.5 yards per reception. Adams didn’t play in weeks three and four due to injury, but just looking at his performance in the other four games shows he has been tremendous for the Packers offense this season. If he continues to play well, the Packers are looking at either the number one or two seed in the playoffs.

Defensive player of the year should go to Los Angeles Rams’ defensive tackle, Aaron Donald. Donald is having a monster season so far with 22 tackles, eight sacks, and two forced fumbles. Aaron Donald is the main reason why the Rams are 5-2 going into week eight. Aaron Donald won the award twice in 2017 and 2018 and is the highest-rated defensive player on the NFL top 100 list.

The Offensive Rookie of the Year should go to Los Angeles Chargers’ quarterback, Justin Herbert. As a rookie, Herbert has 1,542 passing yards, 12 passing touchdowns, 67.4 passing completion percentage, and a 73.6 quarterback rating. For the past three games, Herbert had at least three touchdown passes and 250 passing yards. Herbert has been the best rookie quarterback since being the sixth pick in the most recent NFL draft and is on pace for throwing at least 30 touchdowns and over 3,000 passing yards.

The Defensive Rookie of the Year should go to Washington Football Team defensive end, Chase Young. Chase Young, out of The Ohio State University, was the best player in the most recent NFL draft and has shown his value throughout the season. Playing with a deep defensive line at Washington, Chase Young has had 2.5 sacks and 15 solo tackles as a rookie. Chase also has one of the best ratings for all defensive rookies so far in the 2020 NFL season.

Comeback Player of the Year should go to Pittsburgh Steelers’ quarterback Ben Rothlisberger. Rothlisberger, who is coming off of a season-ending injury last year, currently has 1,446 passing yards, 13 touchdowns, a 68.2 passing completion percentage, and a 58.3 quarterback rating. Big Ben is one of the main reasons the Steelers are number one with a 7-0 record. 

Coach of the Year should go to Green Bay Packers head coach, Matt Lafleur. Lafleur, who took over the coaching job from Mike McCarthy in 2019, has turned the Packers into one of the best teams in the NFL. His playing calling has been on point and his IQ in the game of football is incredible. The Packers are on the path to securing another first-round bye in the playoffs because of Lafleur’s coaching.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s