NFL Awards Predictions (Heading into Week 16)

As we approach the end of the 2020 NFL season, new players have made a name for themselves to earn one of the NFL awards, and some players have fallen out of the races. The awards are  Most Valuable Player, Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Offensive Rookie of the Year, Defensive Rookie of the Year, Comeback Player of the Year, and Coach of the Year.

The MVP should go to Kansas City Chiefs’ quarterback Patrick Mahomes. Earlier in the season, it looked like Russell Wilson was the clear run away with how he played at the start of the season, but his recent struggles have really hurt his case for the MVP. On the other hand, Patrick Mahomes’ performances have been amazing. Mahomes has 36 touchdowns, only five interceptions, and 4,462 yards passing. Some may say Aaron Rodgers should win, as he leads the league in touchdowns, but Aaron Rodgers’ performance in certain games have been the reason the Packers have three losses on the year. Mahomes has fewer touchdowns but a better record despite some shaky games. Mahomes makes the plays he needs to win the Chiefs games, and as of right now, the Chiefs are on pace for the only first-round bye for this upcoming playoff season.

The Offensive Player of the Year should go to Kansas City Chiefs wide receiver Tyreek Hill. Hill has been the main reason Patrick Mahomes has been very successful in his young career. So far, he has 1,211 receiving yards and a league-leading 15 touchdown catches. Hill is arguably the best receiver in the NFL because of his speed and athleticism that allows him to catch almost any ball that is thrown his way.

The Defensive Player of the Year should go to Miami Dolphins cornerback Xavien Howard. Howard is the league leader in interceptions with nine so far and also has 17 passes defended which is tied for second in the NFL. He also has 35 solo tackles for a defensive back playing on a Miami Dolphins defense that has a very good defensive line. Howard has been making plays on the defensive side and his contributions are one of the main reasons the Miami Dolphins will possibly be in the playoffs for the first time in 12 years.

The Offensive Rookie of the Year should go to Los Angeles Chargers quarterback Justin Herbert. Herbert was the runaway candidate at the beginning of the season, but then the Minnesota Vikings receiver, Justin Jefferson, made a case for himself. However, Herbert has re-established himself as the clear runaway after his past two games against the Falcons and the Raiders, as in both games he led the Chargers to game-winning drives. Herbert is eighth in the league in passing yards with 3,781 yards, 27 touchdown passes, and 10 interceptions as a rookie. Herbert is on pace to break the rookie touchdown record which was last held by Baker Mayfield back in 2018.

The Defensive Rookie of the Year should go to Washington Football Team defensive end Chase Young. Young has 27 solo tackles, 5.5 sacks, three forced fumbles, and one defensive touchdown off a fumble. Young’s recent improvement as a leader and a player is the main reason why Washington has a top ten defense and the highest chance to win the NFC East to host a home playoff game. Washington was also on its first four-game winning streak since 2015, and the main reason for that was Chase Young’s impact on the defensive line.

Comeback Player of the Year should go to Washington Football Team quarterback Alex Smith. After having an almost career ending injury back in 2018, Smith went through 19 surgeries to repair his leg. After all that, doctors diagnosed Smith with necrotizing fasciitis which is a bacterial infection that eats away the flesh. More surgeries were performed to get rid of the infection in his lower right leg. After two years of horrific times for Smith, he came back this year and right now is on pace to lead the Washington Football Team to its first playoff appearance since 2015.

Coach of the Year should go to Cleveland Browns head coach Kevin Stefanski. Stefanski is in his first year in the Cleveland Browns system and has exceeded all expectations. The Browns have their first winning season since 2007 and have the chance to make the playoffs for the first time in nearly 18 years, which is the longest active playoff drought streak in the NFL. It seems like Stefanski has unlocked something with this Cleveland Browns team that some past head coaches just couldn’t do. The Browns have their head coach of the future and are looking dangerous with not only their roster, but Stefanski as their head coach.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s